Drowning in packages

Today was a pretty decent haul. 4 items from AliExpress, an order from eBay, and my Love With Food subscription box! I knew three of these six items were coming today, but it was a nice surprise to receive the rest.

So, without further ado…

IMG_20170313_193225004

I ordered this bracelet for a friend of mine, as a bit of an inside joke. There are a few of these going around the AliExpress website – some of which say “Freedom” on the cuffs, which makes little to no sense to me, but still.

This bracelet was $0.35 on AliExpress, with free shipping. It arrived in 18 days, which is a little less than the minimum on the 20-39 days it was supposed to take.

I’m not super impressed with the quality, but it was cheap, and I can probably fix it up a bit. The cuff parts aren’t as smooth and shiny as they looked in the photo, and the jump rings holding the cuffs to the bracelet chain are really rather horribly done. That said, the chain is decent enough, at least. And adjustable, which never hurts.

Next up…

IMG_20170313_193343493

This phone spider was more of an impulse buy. I watched a video where they reviewed these, and decided to get one, mostly for my daughter, but I wanted to see how it worked, too.

At $0.98 on AliExpress, it’s a bit more than I usually spend on a whim for cheap Chinese crap, but it seems to work alright. Like the bracelet, this arrived in 18 days, while it was stated to take 20-39 days.

IMG_20170313_193637862C

It works alright, and is sturdy enough, but it does feel a bit flimsy while, at the same time, it’s a bit tough to bend. Not as flexible as I thought it would be. I’m sure my daughter can find a use for it, though – even if for nothing better than a chair for a doll. (Not that, at age 13, she still plays with dolls – except when her cousin is here.)

IMG_20170313_193954981

Next up is a screen protector for my smartphone. I’ve needed one of these for a couple years now, and I’m surprised that I haven’t had any major damage in that time!

This put me out $0.74 on AliExpress – not bad for something that might save me hundreds of dollars in a replacement phone. Might. It took 13 days to arrive from China, while the shipping was estimated to take 20-39 days. So far, I’m loving these shipping times! (At least on the items that have shown up.)

It installed quickly and easily (I expected to have to remove a lot more bubbles than I did – it just sorta sucked itself onto my phone’s screen!), and fit my phone perfectly. The touch screen works just fine through it, too. It does seem to give a bit of a blue tint to my screen when it’s off, but it doesn’t affect it when on, so it works! For less than a dollar, I’d purchase another if I needed it.

IMG_20170313_193307160.jpg

This next one is a gift for my sister-in-law, who loves Wonder Woman. There are a ton of these floating around, almost all stating on their tags that they’re “Knee High Socks” when they’re nowhere near – which just adds a bit of humor to the whole thing. Whose knees are these supposed to reach?

One of my more expensive purchases, these were $1.70 on AliExpress when I purchased them, but the price has since gone up to $1.79. I paid for upgraded shipping (another $1.16) on these, as I needed them before the end of March. They were supposed to arrive in 12-20 days, and it took them 13, so nicely within the delivery timeline.

These seem to be well made, at least from the outside. There’s some fraying on the inside, where the colors meet, so I’m not expecting them to hold up too long. They’re branded “Pop Heroes” and have Trademark & Copyright information on them, but I have no idea if they’re officially licensed or not. None of that matters, really – she’ll enjoy them for as long as she can, and if they fall apart, they were cheap, and it’s not the end of the world.

Now, on to eBay…

IMG_20170313_193848179

I’ve  been working on stretching my ears for over 3 years now, and I’m almost to where I wanted to end up. I’ve tried various methods of doing the stretches, and realized the only thing that really works for me is to wait until my ears readily accept the next size – but, that means I’m waiting 6-9 months between sizes now. My last tunnels got to the point where they were falling out, but my ears weren’t ready for the next size up, so I hunted these down. They’re essentially a half-size – between the one I was at and my goal size, which I’m not quite ready for. They’re glass, so no off-gassing of plastic in my ears, and that also means that they’re heavy enough to help the stretch along to the next size.

The short plugs were $5.99 on eBay, and the longer tapers were also $5.99 on eBay, from the same seller, so they shipped together. Plus, there was a  buy one, get one 50% off sale, so I paid $4.49 each. These shipped from the US, so they only took 4 days to arrive vs the 2-4 weeks from China.

I’m incredibly happy with these. They’re a decent weight, and the tapers fit really well (still working on the plugs, but I’ll get there.) There are a couple flaws in the glass, but nothing where they’ll hang through my ears, and that’s what really matters.

And, finally…

IMG_20170313_194349130C

My Love With Food box!

I’ve had a few subscription boxes through the years – yarn, snacks, craft kits… This has to be my favorite (and the only one I spend the money on currently.) It’s snacks without all the nasty junk that’s in most store-bought brands, which is incredibly important to me, as I have some chemical sensitivities, including artificial sweeteners.

I get the Deluxe box, which is $19.99/month (click that link and get 50% off your first box!) but they also have a smaller “Tasting” box that’s $9.99/month, or a gluten-free box that’s $24.99/month (all of which receive discounts if you order more than one month at a time.)

This month’s box included 2 bags of Wise brand sea salt popcorn, 2 packets of Monbana “Chocolat Salon de The”, a “Snack Box to Go” containing veggie chips and hummus (which might be coming on my road trip with me at the end of the month), dill pickle potato chips from Route 11 (not a fan of dill), chocolate emoji cookies, “Chewie Fruties” from Torie & Howard (I think I’ve tried these before, and they were like grown-up Starburts), natural fruit gumballs, espresso candy, 2 almond toffee bars (MINE!), Hippeas vegan white cheddar chickpea puffs, an 18 Rabbits date, pecan, & coconut bar, and a vanilla wafer waffle by Ruger.

I haven’t tried any of the snacks here, as I’m on an elimination diet at the moment, and don’t want to throw my results off, but I’m looking forward to being able to dig in and try some new things. (I may also have last month’s box to gorge on, too…)

…and that’s the last of it – for today. (Finally!) Can’t wait to see what’s in my mailbox tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

