Life’s a Beach

So, we’re planning a trip to Myrtle Beach, SC at the end of the month. My daughter will be on spring break, and we all need a vacation, so we’re spending a weekend on the beach, just relaxing and not worrying about work or anything else. (Ok, I lie – I will have to do a little work while I’m there.)

Now, the beach means bathing suits… And my suit is nearly as old as my now-teenage daughter. The shoulder straps are broken, and have been turned into a halter neck. It’s not falling apart, and still fits, but I’ve wanted a new one for years – I just haven’t been able to justify $60-$100 for a new suit!

On a whim, I checked AliExpress. Now, while there’s a lot of awesome things on that site, the selection of plus size clothing in my size is incredibly slim. There’s a dozen copies of the same dress, a few copies of a second, half a dozen copies of a top, and one pair of leggings that may or may not fit (I’m skeptical about ‘one size’ anything.) The last thing I expected was to not only find a suit I liked, but at a decent price, in my size, and with free, relatively quick shipping… But I did!

 

IMG_20170309_215156491
Pardon the crappy picture – I need a new camera!

I have to say, I love this. It’s a 2-piece (though the different versions of it had it listed as both a 2-piece and a 1-piece), so it fits better on my long torso. The color and pattern are perfect. Granted, I’m not a huge fan of skirt style suits, but I’ll make an exception for this one.

The suit was $18.99 on AliExpress, with free e-packet shipping, and available in sizes 58/4x-70/10x, which comes out to approximately sizes 18-30 US. It’s also available in 5 different color combinations – all in the blue/black/green range. It arrived in only 11 days from the order date, with the shipping time listed on the item description claiming 12-20 days – pretty good!

IMG_20170309_215218361.jpg

There’s one place on one of the underarms where the elastic pokes out a little, and the color of the bottom piece doesn’t quite match, but that’s not a big deal – with the length of the top, nobody’s really going to see the bottom anyways. The fabric is on the lighter side, and it’s a bit of an awkward fit if you’re super gifted in the chest area – but, then, every swimsuit is a bit of an awkward fit if you’re bigger than normal.

Overall, I’m pleased, especially for the price!

Also, a bit of an update. I filed a dispute on the missing ukulele and, of course, the seller claimed that they accidentally shipped it to the wrong address. Right…

That said, my money is being refunded, and I managed to be civil, even though I wanted to go off on them about honesty. Unfortunately, I think that’s the end of it – there will be no disciplinary action, though I do get to leave feedback on the transaction. They requested 5 stars… Yeahno. They got 1 star, and a description of the transaction fail.

But… I’m happy with my swimsuit! Can’t wait to wear it to the beach!

 

Leave a Reply

