Day 1 – Surprise!!!

So, I went on a bit of a (giant) AliExpress binge last week, and ordered a ton of stuff – mostly jewelry. I’ve been doing my best not to obsessively track everything I ordered, but there were a few things that I was keeping an eye on. One of them was set to be delivered today, so I was excited and went and got the mail as soon as it came.

Not only did my item come, but I got another package, too! Woot!

IMG_20170303_134006688.jpg

First off, the item I knew was coming… I was excited about this. I’ve wanted an ouroboros ring for a while now, but didn’t want to spend $20 on something that looked like it was going to turn my finger green in the first 24 hours. I’ve seen sterling silver ones for $30 but I’m on a major budget, and $30 for a ring is hard for me to justify at the moment.

This ring was $5 on AliExpress. I did pay for upgraded shipping ($2.32 to upgrade to ePacket) and I’m glad I did. It took a week to get here from the date I ordered, which is pretty good for stuff coming from China.

Quality-wise, I’m pleased. Despite being on the thinner side, it’s sturdy, and it feels like it might last a while – the finish is nice, and doesn’t show signs of wearing off quickly. The design is nice – the scales go almost to the bottom of the ring, but it does turn smooth at the very bottom. The eyes are a dark blue, which aren’t super showy, but if you look closely, it’s a nice feature.

IMG_20170303_134039992.jpg

The one thing I’m not too pleased on, though, is the sizing. I ordered this ring in a size 8, which is perfect for my pinky finger. My ring gauge says it’s a 9, but it fits more like a 9.5 – perfect for my ring finger, but not what I wanted this for. It might be an error on the seller’s part, or it could be a difference in sizing between the two countries, I’m not sure. But I can make it work, so I’m not going to complain.

Overall, I’m happy with this, and might consider buying another, smaller one in the future.

IMG_20170303_134202993.jpg

This one, I wasn’t expecting to come so quickly! I ordered this for my daughter to give to her grandmother. As birthdays – and even grandparents’ days – are still a ways off, I didn’t bother upgrading shipping.

This one was $0.49 on AliExpress. It was supposed to arrive in 22-38 days, shipping from Malaysia. I ordered it late on February 23, so it took a grand total of 7 1/2 days to get to me. However, it shipped from China, not Malaysia, which is a bit odd.

Quality-wise, this is alright. The finish on the website had a tiny bit of a weathered look to it, but overall seemed smoother than this one. But that could have been the lighting. The heart charm is what I’m most disappointed about – it looks cheap, and almost plastic. Not the greatest –  but, for under a buck, I can’t complain too much.

I did order another, similar necklace from another seller – we’ll see which one looks better. (2 grandmothers, 2 necklaces – though I’ll have her give the nicer of the two to my mother.)

So, today’s packages were (mostly) a success! Tomorrow: A ukulele! (Supposedly…)

Leave a Reply

